CCA Board of Directors

The Colorado CCA Board administers the Certified Crop Adviser (CCA) program in Colorado, with assistance from the International CCA program which is sponsored by the American Society of Agronomy with offices in Madison, Wisconsin.

The Colorado CCA board consists of nine individuals who represent various Colorado governmental institutions and agencies, as well as industry groups involved in supplying production inputs and advising growers in Colorado. They are:

Each Board member is appointed by their sponsoring organization for a 3-year term and is eligible to serve two terms. The 3-year terms of all members are on a staggered basis so the terms of only one-third of the Board members are completed each year. The Board elects a chair for a 1-year term each fall; this individual may be reappointed.

Chair of the Board: Mike Sherry

There are four standing committees. They are:

Exam Committee: 

Prepares and selects questions for each Colorado CCA exam, and evaluates the results of each exam to improve questions for future exams.

Continuing Education Committee:

Standards and Ethics Committee: 

Evaluates all new CCA application forms for proper credentials and acceptance by the Colorado CCA Board. Also, investigates reports of possible ethics violations of current Colorado CCAs.

Marketing and Promotion Committee: 

Promotes the CCA program. Evaluates all CCA Continuing Education Unit (CEU) application forms submitted for Colorado training, assigns proper credits, and submits the approved forms to the ICCA office. Informs all Colorado CCAs of training opportunities with Board-approved CEUs.

The Colorado CCA Board welcomes suggestions from the members concerning the conduct of this program in Colorado.

Kierra Jewell Kierra Jewell
CCA Program Admin/Program Assistant
Dept. of Soil and Crop Sciences
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1170
Fax: 970-491-2758

Neal Kittleson
Certification & Training Program Manager
Worker Protection Standard Program Coordinator
Pesticide Section
305 Interlocken Parkway
Broomfield CO 80021


Jacob Langlie

Jacob Langlie
8416 Shire RD
Nunn, CO 80648
(970) 217-9284


Kurt Lieberknecht
55 West Bromley Ln.
Brighton, Colorado 80601
Cell 719-251-3297
Office 970-454-4000

Ron Meyer

Ron Meyer
CSU Extension
817 15th St
Burlington, CO 80807
(719) 346-5571

Christine Newton
Christine Newton
9595 Nelson Road, Box D
Longmont, CO 80101-6359
Office: (720)378-5540
Rachel Seedorf

Rachel Seedorf
Aero Applicators, Inc.
12502 County Road 27
Sterling, CO 80751
(970) 630-5416

Brad Shean

Brad Shean
440 Kansas Ave, Stratton, CO80836
(710) 349-2723

Mike Sherry

Michael Sherry
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Environmental Agriculture Program - A2
Denver, CO 80246
Office (303) 692-3614
Cell (720) 588-0051

Joe Thompson

Joe Thompson 
25050 Longhorn Trail 
Ramah, CO  80832
(719) 529-4841

Merlin VanDeraa

Merlin VanDeraa
Soil Scientist
P.O. Box 522
Yuma, CO 80759
(970) 848-5600


Jason Webb Jason Webb
Field Representative
Trinidad Behnam Corporation
1500 Right of Way Road
Sterling, CO 80751
(970) 522-3595 x 229


Troy Bauder Troy Bauder (ex-officio) 
Dept. Soil and Crop Sciences
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1170
Phone: 970-491-4923
Fax: 970-491-2758
Thia Walker Thia Walker (ex-officio)
Extension Specialist- Pesticide Safety Education
Colorado State University
1177 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO  80523
fax: 970-491-3888